How to make twenty dollars last for many years

By

Part 2 of “It’s not as easy as it looks”

So once I finally got “the picture”  I wanted to do something original with it.  Besides my wife’s birthday was around the corner and I wanted to give her something special.   I went and had the picture blown up to 20×30 and planned on making a frame to mount above the fireplace.  But this time I wanted to try something a little different.  Here it is.

Once I got the picture printed (about $20.00)  I decided I wanted to build a frame made from some scrap plywood and mount the picture to it somehow.  This is the mount board.   A 1/4 inch sheet of plywood nailed to a 2 inch subframe.  Basically I cut strips of plywood 2 inches wide, glued them together to make 20×30, then just nailed the 1/4 plywood on top.  I decided to paint the edges black to give it a finished look.

IMG_0966

I then took the photo and glued to the board with mod podge on the under side and on top.  Something you can find at you local craft store.  When I brushed the glue on I made sure to keep it thick so you could really see the brush strokes when they dried.

IMG_0967

Several hours later, once it dried well it was ready to hang.  In this picture I made sure to get the reflection of the floodlight in the living room so you could really see the brushstrokes.

IMG_0973

Just to add a cherry on the top I had the kids put their paw prints on the back in paint.  Then Ava added her own little note.

DSC_7833